Henry Neville's £100 Bond to John, Lord Petre: Credit, Temple Church, Byrd, and Virginia, 1607
Topic: Henry Neville's £100 Bond to John, Lord Petre, 1607
Source-Fact Audit — 30 August 2026
The instrument distinguishes a £160 penal obligation from the £100 performance condition. Neville was to pay £100 on 20 June 1607 at the Temple Church font-stone; timely payment would void the larger obligation. The bond does not state the consideration, so it cannot safely be called a £160 loan—or even a cash loan of £100—without a companion agreement or account.
Petre's identity and Byrd patronage create a dated network fact: Neville owed money to Byrd's protector in the year of the second Gradualia dedication. They do not show that Neville financed, commissioned, received, or knew that publication. The 1620 Virginia list is a posthumous company/accounting survival for Neville and a separate institutional overlap, not evidence about the 1607 bond's purpose. Petre accounts and a receipt remain the decisive next records.
Central Finding
Royal Berkshire Archives D/EN/F6/1/9 is a sealed bond made by Sir Henry Neville of Billingbear to John Petre, first Baron Petre, on 24 February 1606/7. Neville bound himself in a penal sum of £160. The bond would become void if he paid Petre £100 on 20 June 1607 at the font-stone in the Temple Church near Fleet Street.
This is a direct addition to Neville's financial biography. It names a specific creditor, a principal sum, a penalty, a payment date, a London payment place, and two witnesses. It also places Neville in a documented private-credit relationship with the Essex nobleman who was William Byrd's major patron and, in the same year, the dedicatee of Byrd's second book of Gradualia.
The bond does not disclose the transaction that produced the £100 obligation. No connection between Neville's money and Byrd's publication should be asserted without a Petre account, receipt, or companion agreement.
Image-Controlled Text
The Latin obligation identifies the parties and penal sum:
Noverint universi per presentes me Henricu[m] Nevill de Billingbeare in
Comitatu Bark[shire] militem teneri et firmiter obligari Johanni Domino
Petre de Ingatestone in Com[itatu] Essex in Centum et sexaginta libris
That is: Henry Neville of Billingbear, Berkshire, knight, acknowledges that he is firmly bound to John, Lord Petre of Ingatestone, Essex, in £160.
The English condition states the actual performance required:
the Summe of One hundred poundes of lawfull English monny uppon
the Twentith Day of June next ensueinge the Date of this present
Obligacõn at the ffontstone in the Temple Churche neere ffletestreete
London, or the place where the said ffontstone there nowe standeth
If Neville paid as required, the larger obligation would be cancelled:
That then this present obligacõn to be voide
& of none effect, or els to stand, remaine, and be in full force & strength.
Neville signs Henry Nevill. The execution clause names two witnesses:
Sealed & delivered accordingly
in the presence of us
Tho: Weare
William Killingworth /
The reverse docket gives the operative sum and controls the modern year:
S^r Henry Nevill bond
for 100^li 20 June
1607
£160 and £100 Are Different Parts of the Same Instrument
The £160 named in the Latin is the penal obligation. The £100 named in the English condition is the sum whose timely payment cancels that obligation. The reverse docket describes the document by the £100 performance sum rather than the penalty.
This distinction matters because a summary that calls the document a “£160 loan” would misstate its legal structure. The surviving paper proves that Neville promised £100 under a £160 penalty. It does not say whether the £100 was a cash loan, purchase money, a settlement balance, reimbursement, or another kind of debt.
Why the Date Is 1606/7
The face writes the year as 1606 and dates the instrument to James I's fourth regnal year in England and fortieth in Scotland. Under the legal calendar then in use, the year changed on 25 March. The date is therefore 24 February 1606 Old Style and 24 February 1607 in modern year numbering.
The contemporary docket removes any ambiguity about the next payment date. Its 20 June / 1607 is the same “Twentith Day of June next ensueinge” specified in the condition.
The Temple Church Font-Stone as a Payment Place
Neville was not told merely to pay somewhere in London. The bond selected a specific fixed object: the ffontstone in the Temple Churche neere ffletestreete. That language belongs to a wider legal practice.
John Amphlett's calendar of the Kyre Park charters records a 1590 deed securing £500, payable in 1592:
“on the fontstone of the church called Temple Church in Flete street,
London”
The next entry records £300 payable:
“on the font stone of the Temple Church in Fleet Street”
These passages are visible on printed p. 123 / Archive leaf n176 and printed p. 124 / Archive leaf n177. The comparison shows that the Temple Church font-stone functioned as a recognized public payment point in formal securities. It should not be read as evidence that Neville or Petre belonged to the Inner or Middle Temple without a separate membership record.
John Petre Identified
The bond's Johanni Domino Petre de Ingatestone is John Petre (1549-1613), not his son William. Ingatestone Hall's Petre family tree identifies John as first Baron Petre and his son William as the second baron. The title, place, and date in the instrument therefore match John. The bond demonstrates that Neville's credit network reached beyond Berkshire into this Essex household.
The Byrd Connection in the Same Year
John Petre was also William Byrd's protector. Davitt Moroney's published notes for Hyperion identify Sir John Petre in that role and state that Byrd's second book of Gradualia was dedicated to Lord John Petre in 1607: Hyperion notes. The Open Library edition record independently identifies the second book, Thomas East's London imprint, the 1607 publication date, and STC 4244.5.
The controlled chronology is:
| Date | Documented event |
|---|---|
24 February 1606/7 | Neville seals the £100 obligation to Petre. |
1607 | Byrd's second book of Gradualia appears with its dedication to Lord John Petre. |
20 June 1607 | Neville's £100 payment falls due at the Temple Church font-stone. |
The responsible conclusion is precise: Neville had a personal financial relationship with Byrd's patron during the months in which Petre received the dedication of one of Byrd's major publications. The cause and use of Neville's £100 remain undocumented.
This connection belongs beside the separate Billingbear musical lane: My Ladye Nevells Booke was completed in 1591 for Elizabeth Bacon Neville, Henry Neville's stepmother, and contains Byrd's pavan and galliard for William Petre. The 1607 bond supplies a direct Neville-to-Petre financial document; it does not turn these separate musical records into a single commission.
A Later Virginia Company Overlap
The relationship also has a later institutional echo. The 1620 printed Virginia Company adventurer accounting list records:
Sir Henry Neuill, of Barkshire 37. 10
and separately:
Iohn, Lord Petre 95.
The entries were checked directly in Susan Myra Kingsbury's printed transcription: Sir Henry Neuill, of Barkshire and 37. 10 appear on vol. 3, printed p. 330, and John, Lord Petre with 95 appears on printed p. 331. Neville was dead by 1620, so his line is a posthumous company/accounting survival. The paired entries nevertheless show that the two men of the 1607 bond also belonged to the documented Virginia-adventurer world.
Research Paths Opened by the Bond
- Petre accounts, February-June 1607. Search Essex Record Office Petre
- Receipts and cancelled securities. Search for a satisfaction, receipt,
- Witness identities. Establish whether Weare and Killingworth were Petre
- Temple payment records. Determine whether scrivener, recognizance, or
- Neville's financial chronology. Place the bond beside the
1601land - Petre–Byrd accounts. Locate the underlying household accounts and any
household, cash, loan, and estate accounts for Nevill, Billingbear, £100, £160, 20 June, Thomas Weare, and William Killingworth.
defeasance, or cancelled counterpart dated on or shortly after 20 June 1607.
servants, Neville agents, Temple scriveners, or independent witnesses.
legal-office records preserve a companion instrument explaining the debt.
statement, post-Essex surety burdens, later estate instructions, and other dated obligations rather than treating Neville's finances as a single undifferentiated decline.
associated scholarly edition, then compare dates and ledger context with the Neville obligation without assuming the payments are connected.
Archival Placement
The physical reverse carries D/EN/F6/1/9. The live Royal Berkshire Archives parent record describes nineteen documents of Sir Henry Neville, 1592-1615, and expressly includes a “bond with Lord Petre, 1606.” The exact /9 URL is not separately exposed in CALMView, so the online catalogue controls the bundle and the pencil reference controls the item number.
What Is Established
- Henry Neville signed and sealed the bond on 24 February 1606/7.
- John Petre, first Baron Petre, was the obligee.
- £100 was due at the Temple Church font-stone on 20 June 1607.
- Failure to perform left a £160 penal obligation in force.
- Thomas Weare and William Killingworth witnessed delivery.
- Lord Petre was Byrd's patron and the
1607dedicatee of Gradualia II. - Both Neville of Berkshire and John Lord Petre appear in the later printed
Virginia Company adventurer accounting list.
What Remains Unresolved
- the origin of the £100 debt;
- whether Neville paid on time;
- whether a Petre account or receipt records the payment;
- the witnesses' exact identities and affiliations;
- whether the bond had any connection to property, surety, investment, or
- whether the chronological proximity to Gradualia II is merely coincidental.
another transaction;
Sources
- Sir Henry Neville's bond to John, Lord Petre,
24 February 1606/7, Royal - Royal Berkshire Archives `D/EN/F6/1` parent record.
- Ingatestone Hall, Petre family tree.
- John Amphlett, The Kyre Park Charters (1905), pp.
123-124: [Archive.org - Davitt Moroney, notes on Byrd, Petre, and the second *Gradualia*, Hyperion Records.
- William Byrd, *Gradualia*, liber secundus, London, `1607`, STC `4244.5`, Open Library edition record.
- Susan Myra Kingsbury, ed., The Records of the Virginia Company of London,
Berkshire Archives D/EN/F6/1/9, manuscript.
item](https://archive.org/details/kyreparkcharters00amphuoft), p. 123, p. 124.
Manuscript Verification Audit
- Images checked: face and docketed reverse of
D/EN/F6/1/9, directly at - Independent non-AI controls: RBA catalogue for bundle and Lord Petre bond;
- Unresolved manuscript matter: no principal party, date, amount, or payment
- AI assistance: none used in the fresh pass; every retained reading was
original resolution on 30 August 2026; reverse inspected under rotation.
Ingatestone Hall for Petre's identity and succession; Kyre Park Charters page images for the Temple Church payment-place parallel; Hyperion and Open Library for the Byrd publication context; Kingsbury pp. 330-331 for the Virginia accounting.
place remains unresolved; the economic cause of the bond is not stated.
decided from direct visual inspection.